on victory over the mush

My brain has been on “mush mode” the last few days. I have had many things to scribble down, but its just the lack of motivation and the time bloging takes that has caused my inspirations to be wasted. My silence has pushed a lot of things to my mind’s back burner..but I will get to them one of these days.

Tomorrow I am going to start a series on the book of Proverbs. I am fascinated by the overwhelming amount of knowledge that is written between the leather covers of my bible..especialy the book of Proverbs. Things written thousands of years ago are still so relevant in todays world, and I find that to be so wonderful. God wants us to prosper..He wants us to find such joy in life, and I am just so thankful to have a God like that.

I’m just going to be completely transparent this evening..I want this blog to reflect who I really am..what is really on my heart. One of the main factors that has caused my mind to be so mushy this week..is money. Ohh how I loath money..stupid money. I wish being a stay at home mom was a paying job..unfortunatly it is not. My husband works so hard for us..he really does. Sometimes though, no matter the back breaking work he does, his efforts come up a bit short. The last few months have definitly been those kind of months. God is so good though..he always provides. We always have food..we always have just enough. this months rent was really starting to look like an impossible task..and any of you who know financial problems first hand, you know what the stress of it all can do.

This past Sunday my father spoke a great message from his heart..a message that really brought my mind out of the pit I had been grovling in. He spoke about our duty as christians to love and help the orphans and the poor in this world. Yes we are poor..but our poverty in no way compairs to the poverty that billions in this world face one grim day after another. At the end of the message my father gave an invitation to give. A call to bless. We always pay our tithes but reaching into our pockets for something more than that 10% that we are used to is something that caused Jonathan to look over at me..in just one look we had an entire conversation.

How can we give anymore..we can’t afford anything extra.
God will take care of us. Period.

so, with a cheerful heart we gave..out of our financial hardship we gave. God is so wonderful..he is so gracious..his promises never EVER fail.

Jonathan put some things on craigslist a few months ago. He has countined to update the ads every few days..but still, not a single call for months. This past week we sold both things. Isn’t it amazing how a God so big..a God who has so much to look over, even still, He looks over his flock on such a small and personal level. One more months rent is paid..who knows what next month will bring, but I’m not going to let it bother me..Satan isn’t going to steal my joy anymore. The promises of God will never fail. As long as we continue to follow his instructions..he will countinue to take care of us. I urge any of you reading this to put Him to the test..

If you give, you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full measure, pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, and running over. Whatever measure you use in giving – large or small- it will be used to measure what is given back to you. – luke 6: 38

10 thoughts on “on victory over the mush

  1. Briana – I can’t count the times we have been there…giving out of our lack….and YES, God is so faithful! Warmed my heart to hear you experiencing his goodness first-hand. He truly will never leave you or forsake you…

  2. I could not be prouder of you and Jonathan, even if you lived in a $500,000 home with all the most stylish furnishings. Those things will all pass away and turn to dust, but the things you “send up to heaven” – those things will never rust or decay. And one day the lives you impact will be waiting to say, “Thank you for giving out of your poverty to help relieve ours.” And behind their voices will come the sound you truly want to hear: “When you did unto one of the least of these, you did it unto Me.”

  3. Wow! Fantastic message for all of us to read. Such a testimony you have in which God has brought you, and now your family unto Himself. I give Him praise for all His blessings upon you, and in turn blessing those of us who read your gift to us. God bless you and yours, Briana, for now having a heart for God and for being a great mom to those precious little ones. If it’s okay with you, I want to add you to my prayer journal.

Leave a Reply

