a challenge for anyone who thinks that everthing in the bible is crap

I am going to start a journey through the book of Proverbs. This is really a personal thing..I have tried several times to do this, but my efforts have never been a success. That is a big problem that I unfortunately have..my endurance for things is so short-lived. I get so bored and burnt out far too soon..I cant imagine how much in life I have missed out on because of this. So perhaps, if i include you on this journey, i may have a better chance at finishing. Hopefully I will grow because of this..hopefully anyone who reads along with me will grow also.

Of course the Proverbs are from the Bible..but, a part of my goal here is to step outside of the obvious and try to show how things in the Bible are good and just regardless of religion. So many people steer away from anything biblical just because they dont want to involve themselves in any of that heaven and hell “stuff”..well, if you are one of these people, please give me a chance.  Let me make you an offer..a challenge. Over the next few weeks really attempt to let the things you read change your attitude and your actions. When we are done..if your life has not improved, I want to know.

The purpose of these proverbs is to teach people wisdom and discipline, and to help them understand wise sayings. Through these proverbs, people will receive instruction in discipline, good conduct, and doing what is right, just, and fair. These proverbs will make the simpleminded clever. They will give knowledge and purpose to young people. Let those who are wise listen to these proverbs and become even wiser. And let those who understand receive guidance by exploring the depth of meaning in these proverbs, parables, wise saying and riddles. – Proverbs 1: 2-6

The above are the opening verses in the book of Proverbs..throughout the next few weeks please try and join me as I dig deeper and try to figure out different things that I can do to become a better person..a better wife..a better mother. And of course, more pleasing in the eyes of God..but, let me say it again, it is not going to be my mission to shove religion down your throat. It is my hope that together, we can become better people. As it is written in Proverbs 1:7..Only fools despise wisdom and discipline..lets not be foolish..myself included; my lack of discipline makes me the biggest fool of them all. I pray that I will gain some self-discipline from all of this…by me actually finishing this, we shall see if that happens.

Leave a Reply

