on laundry room prayers and scribbling in the sand

I worry about how my performance as a mother is a lot. I don’t worry about my ability to meet their physical needs..I worry about whether or not i am doing a good job raising children who will love the Lord. Am I training my children up right? Will my children love the Lord when they are older? things like that. Raising children in this day and age is scary. ( i believe we are very close to the end times..but thats another topic) The devil is in full force trying to destroy as many lives while he still can. Christian parents have a lot more to fight against now with all the bad stuff on tv, the internet, magazines, things they are taught at most schools..basicly everything around us can be a distraction away from the Lord.

the only thing that has helped me come to peace and to not worry so much is prayer. Im talking prayer prayer. like goin’ in the laundry room and shutin’ the door for a while prayer. haha. i really do go to my laundry room to pray. Growing up, I used to hear the old people at church talking about praying in their prayer closet (hopefully im not the only one who has heard this before..i am from the south after all ). this was so weird sounding to me until recently. Now with kids and pets and all the hustle and bustle of life..its hard to get away and just be with the Lord. Ive always prayed..but since i have started going to my laundry room and shutting the world out for a while, my love for Lord has really deepened..and my fears and doubts about being a parent have lessened. I guess my laundry room prayers have made me more sensitive to the holy spirit’s presence in my life..i don’t know..i hope you get what im saying.

but i would say that the most important thing that we can do as parents is plead the blood of Jesus over our children’s lives. We need to get on our knees daily for our sons and daughters and claim the promises of God for their lives. We need to remind Satan that he has no place in our homes and that our children have been dedicated to the Lord – they are covered by the blood of Jesus – and he may not touch them. I call on every one of you (including myself) to draw a line in the sand and for us to take back our families and our marriages in the name of Jesus.

“..at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth.” Philippians 2: 10

 

kneeling for guidance

2 thoughts on “on laundry room prayers and scribbling in the sand

  1. Hi Brianna… I really am enjoying reading alot of your posts, your honesty is very refreshing… I am, however, puzzled with this statement you made: “but i would say that the most important thing that we can do as parents is plead the blood of Jesus over our children’s lives”… I have heard of this concept before, but have never found any biblical warrant for it… there is no question there is spiritual warfare happening every second, but I don’t see how pleading the blood of Jesus, as if it has magical powers, will do anything. The armour of God in Ephesians six only has one offensive weapon, the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God, and yet Paul says we are to stand – i.e. defend ourselves, not go out in force. Satan has already lost, and we need to meditate on the promises of God (which you eluded to), and live in those truths, but we must make sure it is the truth we are standing on. Blessings to you, and may you trust in all that God promises to be for you in Jesus, and be satisfied in Him forevermore…

Leave a Reply

