Why are so many Christians concerned about gay marriage but not about GMOs?

Why are so many Christians concerned about gay marriage but not about GMOs?

At the base of it, what is the reason why many Christians oppose same sex marriage*? The answer is very simple..it is not an answer filled with hate or judgement..it is just the bottom line of it all – it goes against God’s design.

GMOs are genetically modified organisms.. A genetically modified organism is an organism whose genetic material has been altered using genetic engineering techniques.   I do not want to feed my children genetically modified food because genetically modified food goes against Gods design. We are talking about DNA here. The DNA..the genetic makeup of gmo food has been changed from the way that GOD created it. We are taking DNA of one thing and forcing it into the DNA of another thing. DNA..DNA! I wish that there was a way for me to further allow you to hear the urgency I feel as I type this. DNA is GOD’S design for life!

What kind of outcomes are possible here? What happens when we try to out do God’s design? God created our bodies and God created the food that we put into our bodies. Food is our life source here on earth..without it we would die. Do you not think that God would have created the food that runs his other creation, our bodies, with the utmost perfection?

545568_329540823810483_515990041_n

All the science that has shown the multitude of harmful health effects of GMOs, the lack of human health studies of GMO foods, or the fact that GMO seeds are illegal and that GMO foods must be labeled in many European countries is NOT the main focus of my writing this. At the end of the day..I come back to one thing – I do not want to fuel my children’s bodies with food that goes against the design of the one and only Almighty God. The outcomes of this could never and will never be good because man can not and will not EVER outdo God.. man may try, but at the end of the day.. after learning from history and from the word of God, when man tries to change God’s design..it has led to nothing but confusion and destruction. As a parent who is giving it my all to raise my children according to God’s word, feeding my children gmo food is something that I will avoid in every way possible.

Yes, it is a pain in the neck and a huge financial burden to supply them with food as God created it..but it is a conviction and a stand that I will sacrifice to make. If more Christians joined me in this..my, how things would change. If more Christians would become vocal about this issue and stand up for God’s design in the supermarket and with their wallets..Washington and industry would take notice. But until things do change..I will continue to support God’s design in my own home and in the lives of my children. God gave me trinitee and rory and I feel a very convicting urgency to raise them according to the word of God in all aspects of life because something that I have learned is that when you follow Gods instructions and God’s design – you find LIFE. When you stray from it (as I should definitely know about) – you find pain and destruction.

intelligent-design

Then God said, “Let the earth sprout vegetation, plants yielding seed, and fruit trees on the earth bearing fruit AFTER THEIR KIND with seed in them”; and it was so. The earth brought forth vegetation, plants yielding seed AFTER THEIR KIND, and trees bearing fruit with seed in them, AFTER THEIR KIND; and God saw that IT WAS GOOD.” ~ Genesis 1:11-12

*(This is not a post to stir up debate about same sex marriage. I do not hate gay people.I do not look down on them or judge them. I love them and my heart is burdened for them..Jesus gave his life for every single person ever born on this planet..and to not love gay people and to reach out to them with love would be an action that goes against the heart of our lord and savior, Jesus Christ.)

bigstock-Heart-of-fruits-and-vegetables-184383741

3 thoughts on “Why are so many Christians concerned about gay marriage but not about GMOs?

  1. My dear daughter, I applaud your passion and excellent writing. However, what if it was part of God’s design for mankind to discover the ability to create beneficial GMOs (the image of God in us), just as part of God’s design surely was the development of the technology required for you and me to interact via this blog-absolutely amazing.

    I suspect He designed man to create these things in order that all may know the good news of the Gospel and be delivered from sin and death (definitely not a part of God’s original design) and into forgiveness, freedom, and eternal life.

    Of course because we live in a fallen world there will people that abuse the wonderful discoveries God has allowed/designed us to discover, but that should not cause us to shy away from these things, rather we should compete in the market place for something far more important than a healthy diet – the souls of men.

Leave a Reply

